Banana Bread Protein Muffins

I love to cook. I use the Paprika app on my iPad mini to catalog all the recipes I’ve either come up with or gotten from the internet/Pinterest. I absolutely love finding a recipe that works for me and that I can reproduce with great results. I’ve got several go-to’s for many occasions, and my banana bread is definitely one of them. I found the recipe in a vintage cookbook a few years ago, and it’s always a big hit. Think lots of butter, cream cheese, sugar, bananas and walnuts. Everything that’s right with the world and wrong for weight loss surgery patients and worse for diabetics. So when I came across @laplifeblog‘s post about banana bread protein muffins, I was definitely intrigued. I haven’t had a real carb since weeks before my surgery, let alone any kind of sweet, so if I could get some honest-to-goodness banana bread-like texture with the added bonus of good protein, I’m all over it. Searching the web for the best recipe can be daunting since there are so many to choose from, but I tweaked one to suit the stuff I had on hand and I must say, I’m impressed. This is a real muffin, y’all! Slightly less sweet than my beloved heart attack recipe, it still satisfies my taste for banana bread. I like to pair a muffin with my yogurt for breakfast for a decent hit of protein and yumminess.

Banana Bread Protein Muffins

Ingredients:
1 cup bananas
3/4 cup egg whites
1/2 cup non-fat Greek yogurt
2 packets of instant sugar free oatmeal (I like apples and cinnamon)
OR 3/4 cup plain oats
2 scoops vanilla protein powder (I use Isopure No Carb Creamy Vanilla)
1/2 cup sweetener (I use Splenda)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a muffin/cupcake tin with non-stick cooking spray. If you’re going to use liners, make sure they are foil liners since these suckers will stick.

Blend all ingredients in a stand mixer or by hand until you got a nice, liquidy batter. I divided them into 9 muffins but you can do all 12 for smaller servings.

Bake for 16-18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Serving size: 1 muffin |  Servings: 9
Per serving  |  Calories: 76  |  Carbs: 8 g  |  Protein: 9 g  |  Fat: 1 g